5 ways how to improve relationships with others

Hi there!

I must admit I’m super excited, because we’re going to talk about how to improve relationships with others – in the workplace, at home or simply in our social circles.

Therefore, we’re going to go over 5 love languages/languages of appreciation that can immensely change the quality of our relationships. 

So, I came across this fantastic book by dr Gary Chapman The Five Love Languages and the Five Languages of Appreciation in the workplace by Gary Chapman and Paul White.

It turns out that if we put in that extra effort, we will learn people’s languages so that we can improve our relationships. And we speak 5 different languages when it comes to showing our love, care, and appreciation. 

In other words, it’s worth looking closely at the love languages.

Needless to day, appreciation is one of the most desired needs by us, human beings.

Think about it this way: if you want to show you care, appreciation or love and the other person can’t see it or even worse, he or she thinks you ignore her, then we can witness some sort of mismatch.

I, personally, love words and I tell people nice things. This is how I express my gratitude.  I’ve noticed some people don’t exactly feel comfortable with that though. I would even say: they don’t pay attention to what I’m saying to them and about them. They ignore my words and I hate that, so to speak. Like my hubby, for instance… He would like me to do something for him rather than verbalizing my appreciation for him. As he, himself, shows his love by doing things for me, by acts of service. However, being aware of that and putting in that extra effort and time, we can start using other people’s language so that all of us can feel appreciated and understood. This is exactly what my husband and I do – we adjust one to another so that our relationship can thrive.

So what are the love languages?

  1. Words of affirmation – people with this love language express their care through spoken or written word – a text, email, a hand-written note, verbal affirmation, public praise, recommendation letters, positive feedback reports.
  2.  Gifts –  people with this love language express their care through small gifts such as: candy, flowers, a snack, some fresh coffee, travel souvenirs, thank-you gifts, gift baskets.
  3. Physical touch –  people with this love language express their care through hugs, cuddles, pats on the back, embraces, high fives, handshakes.
  4. Acts of service –  people with this love language express their care by doing things for others: helping with a project, fixing things, cooking, fixing a sandwich, doing the dishes, etc.
  5. Quality time –  people with this love language express their care with their time. For example, they will take someone to lunch, drop by an office to chat, call someone just to see how they’re doing, come in early or stay late, take a trip with you.

Why are the love languages so important?

Simply, when we’re appreciated, we’re more productive, motivated, encouraged, healthier, happier.

Did you know that a Gallup study found that almost 70% of American employees don’t get any praise or recognition in the workplace? They are so willing and ready to quit their jobs for that particular reason. Sadly, the same thing goes for romantic relationships.

To sum up,  keep in mind: words of affirmation, acts of service, quality time, small gifts, physical touch are the languages we all communicate. All we have to do is to start studying people and recognizing their language. 

You can take the five love language quiz if you want. Click the link below. And let me know what your primary language is!

Don’t be a stranger!


And now let’s go over the vocabulary that has been used here:

circles = groups of friends

immensely = to a great extent

to come across = find something accidentally

to put in that extra effort = to try much harder

so that = (it’s a conjunction) to make it possible

when it comes to = speaking about

needless to say = naturally, obviously

though = althought (often used at the end of the sentence)

so to speak = (used to emphasize something we’ve just said) in a manner of speaking, if you will

to thrive = to grow, develop

praise = admiration, approval

a pat on the back = praise

to fix a sandwich = prepare, make a sandwich

to drop by = to visit casually, unexpectedly

to come in early = to arrive early

willing = ready, eager to do something

the same thing goes for = the same concerns …

PS You can also get more worksheets by signing up for Agata’s Newsletter here —> click the button –>

As always, enjoy the video made with lots of 💜💚

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top